God’s sovereignty and our actions.

“O Lord, I beg You, let Your ear be open to the prayer of Your servant, and to the prayer of Your servants who delight to fear Your name. And I beg You, bless Your servant today and grant him mercy before this man. For I was cupbearer to the king…Then the king said to me, For what do you ask? So I prayed to the God of Heaven, and I said to the king, If it please the king, and if your servant has found favor in your sight, that you would send me to Judah to the city of my fathers’ tombs, so that I might build it. And the king said to me, the queen also sitting beside him, For until when shall your journey be? And when will you return? So it pleased the king, and he sent me; and I set him a time” (Nehemiah 1:11, 2:4-6).

“And it happened, when Sanballat and Tobiah, and the Arabians, and the Ammonites, and the Ashdodites, heard that repairing of the walls of Jerusalem had gone up, that the breaks were being closed up, it was very angering to them. And all of them conspired together to come and fight against Jerusalem, and do harm to it. But we made our prayer to our God, and set a watch against them day and night, because of them” (Nehemiah 4:7-9).

“If Jehovah does not build the house, they who build it labor in vain; if Jehovah does not keep the city, the one keeping it stays awake in vain” (Psalm 127:1).

“Of man are plans of the heart, and the answer of the tongue is from Jehovah…A man’s heart plans his way, but Jehovah fixes his step” (Proverbs 16:1, 9).

“But thanks be to God, who gives the same earnestness for you in the heart of Titus. For truly he received the entreating, but being more earnest, he went out to you of his own accord” (2 Corinthians 8:16-17).

“So, then, my beloved, even as you always obeyed, not as in my presence only, but now much rather in my absence, cultivate your salvation with fear and trembling, for it is God who is working in you both to will and to work for the sake of His good pleasure” (Philippians 2:12-13).

“Now the God of Peace, He leading up out of the dead, the great Shepherd of the sheep, in the blood of the everlasting covenant, our Lord Jesus, perfect you in every good work, in order to do His will, doing in you that which is pleasing in His sight, through Jesus Christ, to whom be the glory forever and ever. Amen” (Hebrews 13:20-21).

