The Calvinist Cafe forum (1)

I’m not able to directly respond at the Calvinist Cafe since I’ve been banned, but here are some replies I received. I plan on responding “indirectly” to some of the replies here.

[Also, it appears that I left off the letter “c” and that is why my respondents are saying “cdunster.”]

In response to my critical book review of Loraine Boettner’s The Reformed Doctrine of Predestination, Steve wrote the following:

Mr Dunster,

I think your problem may be that you do not believe in the sovereignty of God. If you meditate on Psalm 115:3 and Deut 29:29 for a while you may be less disposed to tell God what He can and cannot do.

Steve

Evidently Deuteronomy 29:29 is being trotted out to “show” that those things CLEARLY REVEALED in Scripture are the “secret things” that HAVE NOT BEEN REVEALED. Steve is like a pseudo-pious, pseudo-humble, rebellious child who asserts “inscrutable mystery” & “secret thing” to the CLEAR REVELATION of his parents to clean his room.

Apparently Psalm 115:3 is Steve’s irrefutable “proof” that since it is true that God does whatever He pleases, then He MUST be pleased to give up a heaping portion of His sovereignty to creature man. This is how I concluded the Introduction of my review of Boettner’s book of blasphemy:

Again, the extreme popularity of this book and the fact that it is given to multitudes of “brand new” or “budding Calvinists” is a big reason for doing this review. Using the touchstone of Scripture we will see, the Lord willing, that “The Reformed Doctrine of Predestination” presents a “partially-sovereign” figment of the vain Calvinist’s imagination rather than the true Sovereign Controller of the universe.

https://agrammatos.wordpress.com/2012/09/14/the-reformed-doctrine-of-predestination-introduction/

To highlight Steve’s hypocrisy towards me:

I think your problem may be that you do not believe in the sovereignty of God. If you meditate on Psalm 115:3 and Deut 29:29 for a while you may be less disposed to tell God what He can and cannot do.

Yet Steve IS very well “disposed to tell God what He can and cannot do” by siding with Loraine Boettner, his cohort in rebellion to the CLEARLY REVEALED teaching of the Godhood of God.

