I Know You Are But What Am I?

The gospel will lead a man to be kind and obliging to his neighbour, as to all things within his power; but for one to pretend to dispose of either the smiles or frowns of the Almighty, is impious: and to do the former is of more pernicious consequence to men than the latter, for men are often hurt, yea, and utterly ruined, by flattery or false charity. But on the other hand, he who enjoys the favour of the true God, has that joy which no man can take from him by any anathema whatsoever. When one expostulates with me thus, “I have charity for you, and hope you have the same for me;” I can understand him to mean nothing else at bottom but this, “The favour of my God is at your service, and I expect you will be no less obliging in return;” or, “I am disposed to frame and accommodate my God to your pleasure and comfort, and would think it very unkind in you not to do the like for me.” Thus men often gain reputation for charity by the most atheistical trifling in sacred things (Sandeman)

This quote reminds me of those God-haters who would initially judge us to be saved, but when we judge them as lost because they do not believe the gospel, then they decide to judge us as lost too. What is the reason in this particular case for their judging us lost? By what standard do they judge us lost? Answer: The standard of “we judged them lost.” This indeed is atheistical and childish trifling since the standard of judgment is not the true gospel, but a sort of juvenile, “I know you are but what am I?” Next Page (15)

Previous Page (13)

