Focus On The Frivolous

This poem I DEFINITELY DO agree with and heartily endorse. It was written by Marc D. Carpenter (he is certainly NOT a poetaster in my view):

FOCUS ON THE FRIVOLOUS

When all you have is an empty head
Focus on the Frivolous
Focus on the Frivolous
When you don’t want to think what’ll happen when you’re dead
Focus on the Frivolous
Focus on the Frivolous

There’s nothing wrong with having fun
When you are centered on the One
But if God you do not obey
What is the purpose of your play?

When you have no use for the Word
Focus on the Frivolous
Focus on the Frivolous
You concentrate on the absurd
Focus on the Frivolous
Focus on the Frivolous

There’s nothing wrong with having fun
When your priority is the One
But what is all your merriment
If of the Truth you’re negligent?

When there’s no fear of God in your eyes
Focus on the Frivolous
Focus on the Frivolous
When you’d rather be a fool than be wise
Focus on the Frivolous
Focus on the Frivolous

There’s nothing wrong with joking around
When you have doctrine that is sound
But what is having a good laugh
When all you have is nothing but chaff?

Think about anything but life and death
Focus on the Frivolous
Focus on the Frivolous
All fun and no faith until your last breath
Focus on the Frivolous
Focus on the Frivolous

Our amusement does not us engross
(Although we surely aren’t morose)
But we who believe have a higher calling
From the One who keeps us from falling
Dead serious is our underlying tone
Because of the Truth we have been shown
This Truth is what has set us free
So even when we leap in glee
We know the gravity of blessed and cursed
That faith and obedience must come first
Before anything that would entertain
For we know that without Christ all else is vain

So why do you not just take a small
Percentage of the time you spend with the trivial
And do some searching of the Word of God
To see if it’s true or just a fraud
Spend some time thinking about serious things
Instead of your constant frivolous flings
It’s way more important than fun or sport
It’s life and death, and your life is short
Time and again you have been shown
The gospel of salvation by Christ alone
How can you laugh and be upbeat
When the flames of hell lick at your feet?

It’s time to discard all the frivolous chatter
Don’t Focus on the Frivolous!
Don’t Focus on the Frivolous!
It’s time to get down to the life-and-death matter
Don’t Focus on the Frivolous!
Don’t Focus on the Frivolous!

It’s time to get to matters of concern
Don’t Focus on the Frivolous!
Don’t Focus on the Frivolous!
To the burning issue of the eternal burn
Don’t Focus on the Frivolous
Don’t Focus on the Frivolous

It’s time to think on things of eternal weight
Don’t Focus on the Frivolous!
Don’t Focus on the Frivolous!
It’s time to think on your spiritual state
Don’t Focus on the Frivolous!
Don’t Focus on the Frivolous!

“I said in my heart, Come now, I will test you with mirth. Therefore, consider with goodness. And behold, this also [is] vanity. I said of laughter, [It is] madness, and of mirth, What does it do? I sought in my heart [how] to drag my flesh with wine, and leading my heart in wisdom; and to lay hold on folly, until I might see where the good for the sons of men is, that which they should do under the heavens the number of days of their life. I made my works great; I built houses for myself; I planted vineyards for myself; I made gardens and parks for myself; and I planted trees in them of every fruit; I made pools of water for myself; to water from them the forest shooting forth trees; I bought slaves and slave girls, and the sons of the house were mine. Also livestock, a herd and a great flock were mine, above all that were before me in Jerusalem. I also gathered to me silver and gold, and the treasure of kings and of provinces. I made ready male singers and female singers for myself; and the delights of the sons of men, a concubine, and concubines. And I became great and increased more than all who were before me in Jerusalem; also my wisdom stayed with me. And all that my eyes desired, I did not set aside from them. I withheld not my heart from all joy; for my heart rejoiced from all my labor; and this was my part from all my labor. Then I faced on all my works that my hands had done, and on the labor that I had labored to do. And, lo, all [is] vanity and striving [after] wind, and [there is] no profit under the sun.” (Ecclesiastes 2:1-11)

“For what is a man profited, if he shall gain the whole world, and lose his own soul?” (Matthew 16:26)

