In Your Mercy Cut Off My Enemies

“Teach me to do Your will; for You are my God; Your Spirit is good; lead me into the land of uprightness. O Jehovah, because of Your name, enliven me; in Your righteousness, bring my soul out of distress. And in Your mercy cut off my enemies; and exterminate all those who distress my soul; for I am Your servant” (Psalm 143:10-12).

Ultimately the land of uprightness is having the distress of indwelling sin completely eradicated upon seeing Christ in His glory. And while remaining here on earth we, with the help of His good Spirit, press toward perfection:

“But, no, rather I also count all things to be loss because of the excellency of the knowledge of Christ Jesus my Lord, for whose sake I have suffered the loss of all things and count them to be trash, that I might gain Christ and be found in Him; not having my own righteousness of Law, but through the faith of Christ, having the righteousness of God on faith, to know Him and the power of His resurrection, and the fellowship of His sufferings, having been conformed to His death, if somehow I may attain to a resurrection out of the dead. Not that I already received or already have been perfected, but I press on, if I also may lay hold, inasmuch as I also was laid hold of by Christ Jesus. Brothers, I do not count myself to have laid hold, but one thing I do, forgetting the things behind, and stretching forward to those things before, I press on after a mark for the prize of the high calling of God in Christ Jesus” (Philippians 3:8-14).

David prays “…in Your mercy cut off my enemies; and exterminate all those who distress my soul; for I am Your servant.”

A clear token of Fatherly mercy is God taking vengeance on and exterminating all those who distress the souls of true Christ-lovers:

“Brothers, we are bound to give thanks to God always concerning you, even as it is right, because your faith grows exceedingly, and the love of each one of you multiplies toward one another, so as for us to boast ourselves in you in the assemblies of God for your patience and faith in all your persecutions, and the afflictions which you endure, a clear token of the just judgment of God, for you to be counted worthy of the kingdom of God, for which you indeed suffer; since it is a just thing with God to pay back tribulation to the ones troubling you, and to give you, those being afflicted, relief with us at the revelation of the Lord Jesus from Heaven with angels of His power, in flaming fire giving full vengeance to those not knowing God, and to those not obeying the gospel of our Lord Jesus Christ, who will pay the penalty: everlasting destruction from the face of the Lord, and from the glory of His strength, when He comes to be glorified in His saints, and to be admired in all those who believe in that Day, because our testimony to you was believed. For which we also continually pray concerning you, that our God would deem you worthy of the calling, and would fulfill all the good pleasure of His goodness, and work of faith in power, so that the name of our Lord Jesus Christ may be glorified in you, and you in Him, according to the grace of our God and of the Lord Jesus Christ” (2 Thessalonians 1:3-12).

“Who is this who comes from Edom with dyed garments from Bozrah, this One adorned in His clothing, bending in His great power? It is I, speaking in righteousness, mighty to save! Why is Your clothing red, and Your garments like one who treads in the winepress? I have trodden the winepress, I alone, and no man of the peoples was with Me. And I will tread them in My anger, and trample them in My fury; and their juice shall be spattered on My garments; and I will pollute all My clothes. For the day of vengeance is in My heart, and the year of My redeemed has come” (Isaiah 63:1-4).

For the day of vengeance is in His heart, and the year of His redeemed has come. May true believers in Jesus Christ meditate on that truly awesome and humbling contrast.

