Hate Them With A Perfect Hatred

“And how precious are Your thoughts to me, O God! How great is the sum of them! If I should count them, they are more than the sand; when I awake I am still with You. Surely You will slay the wicked, O God; and men of blood will turn away from me. Who will maliciously speak against You? Your enemies are lifted up with vanity. O Jehovah, do not I hate those hating You? And am I not detesting those rising against You? I hate them with a perfect hatred; they have become my enemies. Search me, O God, and know my heart; try me, and know my thoughts; and see if any wicked way is in me; and lead me in the way everlasting” (Psalm 139:17-24).

An extremely concise and compendious statement about how Christians love and hate those who would rise up against the True and Living God.

“We HATE the wicked with perfect hatred (Psalm 139:22), AND we LOVE our enemies (Matthew 5:43). Is this paradox? In no way. It must be talking about two senses — two different considerations. We LOVE those whom we count as ENEMIES. We LOVE them when we bless them and do well to them and pray for them. We HATE them when we count them as the enemies of God and, by extension, our enemies” (Marc D. Carpenter).

