A Full-Orbed Understanding

“Brethren, my heart’s desire and prayer to God for Israel is, that they might be saved. For I bear them record that they have a zeal of God, but not according to knowledge. For they being ignorant of God’s righteousness, and going about to establish their own righteousness, have not submitted themselves unto the righteousness of God. For Christ is the end of the law for righteousness to every one that believeth” (Romans 10:1-4).

Tolerant Calvinist: Now wait a minute, Paul. Just because I was prejudiced early in my Christian walk against the truth that Jesus Christ is the end of law for righteousness does not mean that I was NECESSARILY going about to establish my own righteousness. That’s a non sequitur wearing an imperious robe of doctrinal perfectionism. That’s a demand for a full-orbed, perfect understanding of the relationship of all parts of the gospel. I did not teach against this righteousness out of malice, but out of a sincere zeal common to the ignorant. But God is good. And since God is good, then He could not possibly agree with your Diotrophesian insistence that one of the divine gifts given in regeneration is perfection of theology.

