Contentment

“But I rejoiced in [the] Lord greatly that now at last you revived [your] thinking of me (although you indeed did think, but lacked opportunity). Not that I speak as to need, for I have learned to be content in whatever state I am. And I know to be humbled, and I know to abound; in everything, and in all things, I am taught both to be filled and to hunger, both to abound, and to lack. I have strength [for] all things in Christ the [One] strengthening me. Yet you did well in sharing my troubles.” (Philippians 4:10-14)

“But godliness with contentment is great gain. For we have brought nothing into the world, [and it is] plain that neither can we carry anything out. But having food and clothing, we will be satisfied with these. But those purposing to be rich fall into temptation, and a snare, and many foolish and hurtful lusts, which plunge men into ruin and destruction. For the love of money is a root of all evils, [by means] of which some having lusted after [it] were seduced from the faith, and [they] themselves pierced through by many pains. But you, O man of God, flee these things and pursue righteousness, godliness, faith, love, patience, and meekness…Charge the rich in the present age not to be high-minded, nor to set hope on the uncertainty of riches, but in the living God, the [One] offering to us richly all things for enjoyment.” (1 Timothy 6:6-11, 17)

As the fellow wrote (not a blanket-endorsement of the fellow):

“Contentment consisteth not in adding more fuel, but in taking away some fire. Not in multiplying of wealth, but in subtracting men’s desires. Worldly riches, like nuts, tear many clothes in getting them, spoil many teeth in cracking them, but fill no belly with eating them, obstructing only the stomach with toughness, and filling the guts with windiness. Yea, our souls may sooner surfeit, than be satisfied, with earthly things. He that at first thought ten thousand pounds too much for any one man, will afterwards think ten millions too little for himself.”

