Preach. Ponder. Remember.

An unbeliever named Swinnock wrote:

“A frequent mention of things is the best art of memory: what the mouth preacheth often, the mind will ponder much.”

Preach.  Ponder.  Remember.

“And now, Israel, listen to the statutes and to the judgments which I am teaching you to do, so that you may live and go in, and possess the land which Jehovah the God of your fathers is giving to you. You shall not add to the Word which I command you, nor take from it, to keep the commandments of Jehovah your God which I command you. Your eyes have seen that which Jehovah has done in Baal-peor. For Jehovah your God has destroyed them from among you, the men that followed Baal-peor. And you who held fast to Jehovah your God [are] alive today, all of you. Behold, I have taught you statutes and ordinances, as Jehovah my God has commanded me, to do [them], in the midst of the land where you [are] going in, to possess it, and you shall keep and do [them], for it shall be your wisdom and your understanding before the eyes of the peoples who hear all these statutes. And they shall say, This great nation [is] a people wise and understanding. For who [is] a great nation whose God [is] coming near to them, as Jehovah your God [is], in all our calling on Him? And who [is] a great nation whose statutes and judgments [are as] righteous as all this Law which I set before you today? Only, be on guard for yourself and keep your soul carefully, that you do not forget the things which your eyes have seen; and that they not depart from your heart all the days of your life. And you shall make them known to your sons, and to your sons’ sons. [The] day that you stood before Jehovah your God in Horeb, when Jehovah said to me, Gather the people to Me, and I will make them hear My Words, that they may learn to fear Me all the days that they live on the earth; and that they may teach their sons” (Deuteronomy 4:1-10; underlining mine).

“I call Heaven and earth to witness against you today that I have set before you life and death, the blessing and the curse. Therefore, choose life, that you may live, you and your seed, to love Jehovah your God, to listen to His voice, and to cleave to Him. For He [is] your life, and the length of your days [so that you may] live in the land which Jehovah has sworn to your fathers, to Abraham, to Isaac, and to Jacob, to give it to them” (Deuteronomy 30:19-20; underlining mine).

Preach.  Ponder.  Remember.

But Jeshurun grew fat, and kicked; you grew fat, thick [and] sated. And he abandoned God who made him, and fell away from the Rock of his salvation. With strange [gods] they moved Him to jealousy; and with idols they provoked Him to anger. They sacrificed to demons [who were] not God, [to] gods whom they did not know, new ones who came lately. Your fathers had not dreaded them. You forgot the Rock [that] brought you into being and ceased to care for God who formed you. And Jehovah looked and despised [them] because of the provocation of His sons and of His daughters. And He said, I will hide My face from them; I will see what their end [will be]; for they [are] a perverse generation, sons in whom [is] no faithfulness. They made Me jealous with a not-a-god; they made Me angry by their vanities; and I shall make them jealous by a not-a-people; by a foolish nation I shall make them angry. For a fire has been kindled in My anger, and it burns to the lowest Sheol, and consumes the earth and its produce; and sets on fire the foundations of the mountains. I will heap evils on them; I will use up My arrows on them. I will send on them exhaustion by famine, and depletion by burning heat, and bitter destruction, and the teeth of beasts, with the venom of crawling things of the dust. The sword shall bereave from without, and terror from within, both the young man and the virgin, the suckling with the man of gray hairs. I said, I will dash them to pieces; I will make their memory cease from among men; [saying], Were it not the provocation of an enemy I feared, that their foes should judge amiss, that they might not say, Our hand [is] high, and Jehovah has not done all this. For they [are] a nation void of counsel, and no understanding [is] in them. If they were wise, they would understand this; they would consider their latter end. How could one chase a thousand, and two put a myriad to flight, if [it were] not their Rock that sold them, and Jehovah had shut them up? For their rock [is] not our Rock, even our enemies being judges. For their vine is of the vine of Sodom, and their grapes of the fields of Gomorrah, grapes of gall; they [have] bitter clusters. Their wine [is] the venom of serpents, and the cruel venom of asps. [Is it] not stored up with Me, sealed in My treasuries? Vengeance and retribution belong to Me; in due time their foot will slip; for the day of their calamity [is] near, and the things prepared are hurrying for them. For Jehovah will bring His people justice; and He shall have compassion on His servants, for He sees that [their] power is gone, and only the imprisoned and abandoned [remain]. And He will say, Where [are] their gods, the rock in which they sought refuge? Who ate the fat of their sacrifices, [and] drank the wine of their drink offerings? Let them rise up and help you; let it be a hiding place for you. See now that I, I [am] He, and there [is] no other God with Me. I kill, and I keep alive. I wound and I heal, and there [is] no deliverer from My hand. For I lift up My hand to the heavens and say, I live forever! If I have sharpened My glittering sword, and My hand lays hold on judgment, I will render vengeance to My foes, and I will repay those who hate Me. I will make My arrows drunk with blood, and My sword shall devour flesh, with the blood of the slain and of the captives, from the hairy head of the enemy. Rejoice, O nations, of His people; for He shall avenge the blood of His servants, and shall render vengeance to His foes, and shall have mercy on His land [and] His people. And Moses came and spoke all the words of this song in the ears of the people, he and Joshua the son of Nun. And Moses finished speaking all these words to all Israel, and said to them, Set your heart on all the words which I have testified against you today, that you command your sons to take heed to do all the Words of this Law. For it [is] not a useless Word for you, for it [is] your life, and by this Word you shall prolong [your] days in the land where you are crossing over the Jordan, there to possess it” (Deuteronomy 32:15-47; underlining mine).

Preach.  Ponder.  Remember.

Remember your leaders who spoke the Word of God to you, considering the issue of [their] conduct, imitate [their] faith” (Hebrews 13:7; underlining mine).

“For this reason I will not neglect to cause you to remember always concerning these things, though [you] know and have been confirmed in the present truth” (2 Peter 1:12; underlining mine).

“Beloved, I now write to you this second epistle, in which by reminder I stir up your sincere mind to remember” (2 Peter 3:1; underlining mine).

“But you, beloved, remember the words spoken before by the apostles of our Lord Jesus Christ” (Jude 1:17; underlining mine).

Then remember from where you have fallen, and repent, and do the first works. And if not, I am coming to you quickly, and will remove your lampstand from its place, unless you repent” (Revelation 2:5; underlining mine).

