Through Him and for Him

“For all things were created in Him, the things in the heavens, and the things on the earth, the visible and the invisible; whether thrones, or lordships, or rulers, or authorities, all things have been created through Him and for Him” (Colossians 1:16).

“Because of Him, and through Him, and to Him [are] all things. To Him be the glory forever! Amen” (Romans 11:36).

Why does any thing exist instead of no thing?  Why did the Triune God of Scripture create the world?  Who was it ultimately created for?  Colossians 1:16 provides an answer full of awe and glory.  The “through Him and for Him” is Jesus Christ, the sovereign Redeemer, Creator, and Controller of the universe.  He is the God-Man Mediator and Savior of His people, who acts for His own name’s sake and will not give His glory to another (all underlining mine).

“For My name’s sake I will put off My anger; and for My praise I will hold back for you, so as not to cut you off. Behold, I have refined you, but not with silver; I have chosen you in the furnace of affliction. For My sake, for My sake, I will act; for how is it defiled? And I will not give My glory to another” (Isaiah 48:9-11).

“But now so says Jehovah who formed you, O Jacob; and He who made you, O Israel: Fear not, for I have redeemed you; I called [you] by your name; you [are] Mine. When you pass through the waters, I [will be] with you; and through the rivers, they shall not overflow you. When you walk in the fire, you shall not be burned, nor shall the flame kindle on you. For I [am] Jehovah your God, the Holy One of Israel, your Savior. I gave Egypt [for] your atonement; Ethiopia and Seba instead of you. Since you were precious in My eyes, you are honored, and I love you; and I give men instead of you; and peoples instead of your soul. Fear not, for I [am] with you; I will bring your seed from the east, and I will gather you from the west. I will say to the north, Give up! And to the south, Do not hold back! Bring My sons from afar, and bring My daughters from the ends of the earth; everyone who is called by My name, and I have created him for My glory; I have formed him; yea, [I have] made him” (Isaiah 43:1-7).

True believers have been created by God for HIS GLORY.  They are His workmanship, created in Christ Jesus unto good works (Ephesians 2:10).

“Thy sun shall no more go down; neither shall thy moon withdraw itself: for the LORD shall be thine everlasting light, and the days of thy mourning shall be ended. Thy people also [shall be] all righteous: they shall inherit the land for ever, the branch of my planting, the work of my hands, that I may be glorified” (Isaiah 60:20-21).

“The Spirit of the Lord GOD is upon me; because the LORD hath anointed me to preach good tidings unto the meek; he hath sent me to bind up the brokenhearted, to proclaim liberty to the captives, and the opening of the prison to [them that are] bound; To proclaim the acceptable year of the LORD, and the day of vengeance of our God; to comfort all that mourn; To appoint unto them that mourn in Zion, to give unto them beauty for ashes, the oil of joy for mourning, the garment of praise for the spirit of heaviness; that they might be called trees of righteousness, the planting of the LORD, that he might be glorified” (Isaiah 61:1-3).

This passage comes to mind:

“Then came his disciples, and said unto him, Knowest thou that the Pharisees were offended, after they heard this saying? But he answered and said, Every plant, which my heavenly Father hath not planted, shall be rooted up” (Matthew 15:12-13).

Jeremiah 13:11:

“For as the girdle cleaveth to the loins of a man, so have I caused to cleave unto me the whole house of Israel and the whole house of Judah, saith the LORD; that they might be unto me for a people, and for a name, and for a praise, and for a glory: but they would not hear” (Jeremiah 13:11).

God is never thwarted in His decrees.  But many do refuse to hear and transgress His stated preceptive purposes.  Many disobedient bodies fell in the wilderness, but there were others who did hear and were in fact “for a people, and for a name, and for a praise, and for a glory.”

Sing, O ye heavens; for the LORD hath done [it]: shout, ye lower parts of the earth: break forth into singing, ye mountains, O forest, and every tree therein: for the LORD hath redeemed Jacob, and glorified himself in Israel” (Isaiah 44:23)

“Having predestinated us unto the adoption of children by Jesus Christ to himself, according to the good pleasure of his will, To the praise of the glory of his grace, wherein he hath made us accepted in the beloved” (Ephesians 1:5-6).

When he shall come to be glorified in his saints, and to be admired in all them that believe (because our testimony among you was believed) in that day. Wherefore also we pray always for you, that our God would count you worthy of [this] calling, and fulfil all the good pleasure of [his] goodness, and the work of faith with power: That the name of our Lord Jesus Christ may be glorified in you, and ye in him, according to the grace of our God and the Lord Jesus Christ” (2 Thessalonians 1:10-12).

“I pray for them: I pray not for the world, but for them which thou hast given me; for they are thine. And all mine are thine, and thine are mine; and I am glorified in them” (John 17:9-10).

Help us O God, the people of Your planting!  Cause Jesus Christ to be glorified in us as we endeavor to love You, our Triune God, with all our heart, soul, mind, and strength!

“Judas saith unto him, not Iscariot, Lord, how is it that thou wilt manifest thyself unto us, and not unto the world? Jesus answered and said unto him, If a man love me, he will keep my words: and my Father will love him, and we will come unto him, and make our abode with him. He that loveth me not keepeth not my sayings: and the word which ye hear is not mine, but the Father’s which sent me” (John 14:22-24).

“Then being justified by faith, we have peace with God through our Lord Jesus Christ, through whom also we have had access by faith into this grace in which we stand, and we glory on the hope of the glory of God. And not only so, but we glory also in afflictions, knowing that affliction works out patience, and patience [works out] proven character; and proven character, hope. And the hope does not put [us] to shame, because the love of God has been poured out in our hearts through [the] Holy Spirit given to us” (Romans 5:1-5).